About the expo

Hanna Simons

EXPO | 4th Istanbul Design Biennial ‘A School of Schools’

An initiative by IKSV and Z33, in collaboration with C-mine Genk
 

One hundred years after the birth of Bauhaus, both the design sector and the world have undergone massive changes. Oddly enough, this metamorphosis is not reflected in design education, the perfect space to experiment. Last year, the 4th Istanbul Design Biennial zoomed in on this relationship between design and education. The ‘A School of Schools’ exhibition is now visiting Belgium for the first time, on the initiative of IKSV and Z33 in collaboration with C-mine Genk. From 28 June, more than 100 (inter)national designers will be exhibiting works based on Turkish reality.

Campagnebeeld A School of Schools

A School of Schools
 

Where can you learn about how design affects our everyday lives? Not just in schools and academies. This finding is the starting point of curator Jan Boelen (Z33). The exhibition breaks with the traditional view of a school as an institute. It highlights what we already know intuitively: learning is not restricted to a building, specific time slots or certain interactions. You can pick up new ideas anytime, anywhere, from family, friends, neighbours and strangers. Or from our everyday environments and the tools we have designed to navigate them.

In C-mine, ‘A School of Schools’ is presented in a new format and with new scenography, with local interactions and with a wide selection of projects. A supporting programme with guided tours and events will also be available.

28 June to 29 September 2019

10:00 - 17:00 | Expo halls Energy Building

Free entry

Curator: Jan Boelen (artistic director Z33), Vera Sacchetti, Nadine Botha

Scenography and exhibition furniture: Architect Aslı Çiçek and product designer Lukas Wegwerth

À propos de l'expo

Hanna Simons

EXPO | 4e Biennale du Design d'Istanbul 'A School of Schools'

Une initiative d'IKSV et Z33, en collaboration avec C-mine à Genk


100 ans après la création du Bauhaus, le monde du design et le monde tout court ont radicalement changé. Mais paradoxalement, cette métamorphose ne s'est pas produite dans l'enseignement du design, qui semble pourtant être l'endroit tout indiqué pour y lancer des expériences. La 4e Biennale du Design d'Istanbul s'est attardée l'an dernier sur la relation entre le design et l'enseignement. L'exposition itinérante 'A School of Schools' se rend en primeur en Belgique, à l'initiative d'IKSV et Z33 et en collaboration avec C-mine à Genk. Le 28 juin, vous pourrez voir à C-mine plus de 100 concepteurs belges et internationaux, qui se sont basés sur la réalité turque pour leurs oeuvres.
 

Campagnebeeld A School of Schools

 

'A School of Schools'
 

Où peut-on comprendre ce que le design nous apporte dans la vie quotidienne ? Pas seulement dans les écoles ou les académies. Ce constat est le point de départ de la réflexion de Jan Boelen, commissaire de l'exposition et directeur artistique de Z33. L'expo gomme l'image traditionnelle que l'on se fait d'une école en tant qu'institut. Elle expose ce que nous savions déjà de façon instinctive : apprendre, ce n'est pas se rendre dans un bâtiment, avec des horaires réguliers et des interactions déterminées. Les idées nouvelles peuvent survenir partout et à tout moment, par les liens dans le cadre de la famille, des amis, du voisinage, voire des inconnus. Ou encore, par l'environnement quotidien et les outils destinés à notre vie quotidienne.

À C-mine, 'A School of Schools' est présenté sous de nouvelles formes et scénographie, avec des interactions locales et une large sélection de projets. Elle est enrichie d'un programme d'activités additionnelles avec des visites guidées et événements.

Du 28 juin au 29 septembre 2019

De 10 à 17 heures | Salle d'exposition du bâtiment Énergie

Accès gratuit

 

Commissaires de l'exposition : Jan Boelen (directeur artistique de Z33), Vera Sacchetti, Nadine Botha

Scénographie et mobilier de l'exposition : Architect Asl Çiçek et concepteur Lukas Wegwerth