Exhibition Tim Walker: Wonderful Things

Expo Tim Walker C-mine (c) Renaat Nijs

Exhibition Tim Walker: Wonderful Things

The largest show ever of the wide-ranging and sensational work by Tim Walker, photographer extraordinaire. C-mine reopens the exhibition from Wednesday 2 December 2020. Exhibition extended until 21 February 2021.

Rates & tickets

About the exhibition

The impressive exhibition ‘Tim Walker: Wonderful Things’ opened its doors at C-mine in mid-August. The exhibition is a production of the Victoria and Albert Museum in London and started its world tour in Genk. The show had to close due to the stricter measures in the fight against COVID-19. However, from Wednesday 2 December, visitors will once again be able to explore the wonderful world of photographer Tim Walker. The exhibition will be extended until 21 February 2021.

Tim Walker: Wonderful Things is the largest exhibition yet about star photographer Tim Walker’s sensational work. Not only has he innovated fashion photography, he has also produced portraits of countless celebrities, including Tilda Swinton, Alexander McQueen, David Attenborough and Grace Jones.  As well as including early work, the show features 150 new works which Walker created after exploring the wide-ranging collections of the Victoria and Albert Museum in London. From luminous stained glass and jewel-encrusted snuffboxes to embroidered textiles and a 65-m-long photograph of the Bayeux tapestry, they became the source of inspiration for a new series of photographs that offer an exceptional visitor experience. As the museums reopen, Tim Walker: Wonderful Things is an exhibition that will figure high on any Must-See list.

Curated by Susanna Brown and designed by Shona Heath in collaboration with local scenographer Jo Klaps, this is not C-mine's first major exhibition. Thanks to previous exhibitions such as The World of Charles & Ray Eames and The World of Tim Burton, C-mine has already joined the ranks of noted international exhibition venues.

Expo Tim Walker C-mine (c) Renaat Nijs

Opening hours

  • From 22 August 2020 until 21 February 2021
  • Tuesday through to Sunday: 10 am - 6 pm (tickets sold until 5 pm)
  • Closed on Mondays
  • Closed on Christmas and New Year
  • On December 24 and 31 2020 the last start is possible between 14 pm and 15 pm
  • Group visits are currently not possible
Summer deal labyrint

Genk moves you deeply

Are you ready to discover the world in Genk? We kindly welcome you in our green and hospitable city.

The exhibition Tim Walker: Wonderful Things is displayed in the impressive Energy Building of C-mine, on the soil of an ancient coalmine. You wille discover beautiful heritage, architecture and design at C-mine and its surroundings.

A 10 minutes drive from C-mine, you will find LABIOMISTA, the evolving work of art by Koen Vanmechelen in collaboration with the City of Genk. During the winter break, the Cosmpolitan Culture Park is open for visitors as a walking area. And there are many more places to discover by foot or bike in Genk! 

Convinced? Discover the autumn deal and book an affortable stay in the city.

Website Visit Genk

Measures against the coronavirus

The health and well-being of our visitors and staff is of great importance to us. That’s why we have taken the following precautions:

  • The number of visitors to the exhibition will be limited per fixed time slot;
  • Disinfectant hand gel will be available throughout the venue;
  • Clear signage will be provided.

We also request that our visitors follow these guidelines:

  • Buy your tickets online.
  • Wear a mouth mask.
  • Follow the indicated route and the instructions provided by both the signs and the staff at the exhibition;
  • Maintain a safe distance and do not group together.
  • Follow the instructions of the Belgian government’s Security Council.

 

Together, we can make your visit to the exhibition a safe and relaxing one.

Logo's Tim Walker

Exposition Tim Walker

Expo Tim Walker C-mine (c) Renaat Nijs

Exposition Tim Walker: Wonderful Things

La plus grande exposition consacrée à la riche œuvre du photographe Tim Walker. C-mine rouvre l’exposition à partir du mercredi 2 décembre 2020. L’exposition est prolongée jusqu’au 21 février 2021.

Tarifs & Billets

À propos de l'exposition

Tim Walker: Wonderful Things est la plus grande exposition consacrée au travail artistique de Tim Walker. Ce grand photographe de mode est également connu pour ses portraits d’une multitude de célébrités comme Tilda Swinton, Alexander McQueen, David Attenborough et Grace Jones. Les œuvres présentées à C-mine sont le fruit de ses découvertes dans les vastes collections du Victoria and Albert Museum de Londres. Vitraux lumineux, boîtes à prises serties de pierres précieuses, textiles brodés… et même la célèbre tapisserie de Bayeux sous la forme d’une photo horizontale de 65 mètres : autant de sources d’inspiration pour une série de clichés qui feront le bonheur des visiteurs avides de nouveautés. Maintenant que les musées ont rouvert leurs portes, l’exposition Tim Walker: Wonderful Things sera sans aucun doute sur leur liste des incontournables.

Tim Walker est un des plus grands photographes de mode du moment. Il s’est illustré dans des magazines comme Vogue, i-D et LOVE. L’exposition doit son titre au célèbre archéologue britannique Howard Carte, à qui l’on demandait s’il voyait quelque chose dans la tombe du pharaon Toutankhamon qu’il venait de découvrir, et qui répondit : “Yes, wonderful things!”. C’est exactement le sentiment que Tim Walker souhaite susciter chez les visiteurs qui découvrent son exposition.

L’exposition montée par Susanna Brown dans une scénographie de Shona Heath assistée du scénographe local Jo Klaps n’est pas un coup d’essai pour C-mine. C-mine a déjà fait la démonstration de sa capacité à attirer des expositions d’envergure internationale avec des projets comme The World of Charles & Ray Eames et The World of Tim Burton.

Expo Tim Walker C-mine (c) Renaat Nijs

Heures d’ouverture

C-mine rouvre l’exposition à partir du mercredi 2 décembre 2020. L’exposition est prolongée jusqu’au 21 février 2021.

  • À visiter du 2 décembre 2020 au 21 février 2021
  • Du mardi au dimanche : 10h00 - 18h00 (billets vendus jusqu’à 17h00)
  • Fermée le lundi
  • Fermée pour Noël et le Jour de l’An
  • Le 24 et 31 décembre 2020, le dernier départ est possible entre 14h00 et 15h00
Summer deal labyrint

Genk ne vous lâche plus

Prêts à découvrir le monde à Genk ? Vous serez accueillis à bras ouverts dans notre ville verte.

L’exposition Tim Walker: Wonderful Things vous attend à la Centrale énergétique de C-mine, sur les anciens terrains miniers de Winterslag. Les environs offrent aussi quantité de découvertes en termes de patrimoine, d’architecture et de design.

Vous trouverez à proximité de C-mine LABIOMISTA, l’œuvre d’art évolutive de Koen Vanmechelen en collaboration avec la Ville de Genk. Le parc reste accessible aux promeneurs pendant la fermeture hivernale. Et il y a encore à Genk quantité d’endroits étonnants à découvrir à pied ou à vélo !

Nous vous avons convaincus ? Ne manquez pas dans ce cas de jeter un coup d’œil à notre deal automnal pour réserver un séjour à des conditions avantageuses.

Site web Visit Genk

Mesures sanitaires

Considérant que la santé de nos visiteurs et nos collaborateurs est primordiale, nous avons pris les précautions nécessaires :

  • nombre maximum de visiteurs en tranches de créneaux horaires
  • gel hydro-alcoolique disponible un peu partout
  • signalisation claire.

Nous demandons aux visiteurs de respecter certaines règles :

  • achat des billets en ligne.
  • portez un masque buccal.
  • respect du parcours balisé, de la signalisation et des instructions du personnel pendant l’exposition
  • distanciation sociale en évitant les attroupements
  • respect des instructions du conseil de sécurité belge.

 

Nous veillons donc ensemble à ce que la visite de l’exposition se déroule dans la sécurité et le confort de tous.

Logo's Tim Walker